Skip to content

Lasko 1827 review

An 18-inch pedestal fan adjustable from 38 to 54.5 inches, with a patented fused safety plug and tool-free assembly.

Where this leaves you Thirty-eight to fifty-four and a half inches — nearly a foot taller than any DREO pedestal on this shelf — and the only fan here that names an electrical safety feature: a fused plug and ETL listing.

What the maker puts in writing

  • 18 in blades · height 38 to 54.5 in
  • 3 energy-efficient speeds · 60° oscillation · tilt-back
  • ETL listed, Lasko safety fuse technology, patented fused BLUE Plug
  • 11.3 lb · no tools to assemble

Nearly a foot taller than anything else here

Fifty-four and a half inches. The DREO pedestals on this shelf top out at 42, 42 and 43.

For a standing workbench, a tall bed or a room where the air has to clear a sofa back, that single dimension does more than nine speeds would.

The only plug anybody mentions

Lasko’s safety fuse technology and a BLUE Plug […] Patented fused safety plug.

Nine fans, one electrical safety claim. It does not make the air cooler, and it is the sort of thing that only matters once.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $50 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-04. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where this one sits on its shelf

At $50, it is the 3 cheapest of the 10 models in this category published here.

  • Lowest price on the shelf$36
  • Median$70
  • Highest price on the shelf$180

The good and the less good

Strengths

  • The tallest fan on this shelf by a wide margin: 54.5 inches at full extension, against 43 from the tallest DREO pedestal
  • The only listing here that names an electrical safety feature — a patented fused plug and ETL listing
  • Eighteen-inch blades, the largest on this shelf, assembled without tools

Compromises

  • No airflow figure in any unit, no decibels, no wattage
  • Three speeds and 60° oscillation, the simplest control set on this shelf
  • No remote and no timer, both of which every other fan here except the cheapest has

Specifications

Blade size18 in
HeightAdjustable 38 to 54.5 in
Speeds3, described as energy efficient
Oscillation60°
TiltTilt-back feature to direct the air
SafetyETL listed; Lasko safety fuse technology and a patented fused BLUE Plug
AssemblyNo tools required
Weight11.3 lb
AirflowNot stated by the maker
NoiseNot stated by the maker
Amazon referenceB00FXOFM6U
EAN0012302751696

The questions that keep coming up

Why does the height matter?

Because a fan below the level of a bed or a workbench blows at furniture. Fifty-four and a half inches puts the head above most of it, and no other fan on this shelf reaches past 43 inches.

What is a fused safety plug?

A fuse built into the plug itself, so a fault in the fan opens the fuse rather than the house circuit. Lasko names it and the ETL listing; it is the only electrical safety claim anywhere on this shelf, and on a motor that runs unattended for weeks it is worth noting.

No remote or timer?

Neither. Seven fans on this shelf have a remote and six have a timer. This is a mechanical fan with a dial, and its arguments are height, blade size and the plug.

Set beside the neighboring home comfort appliances

home comfort appliances from the same category, at nearby prices. Only what all of them publish is shown: a column with holes compares nothing.

Model Price OscillationNoise
Lasko 1827 $50 60°Not stated by the maker
Levoit LTF-F361-WUS $55 Stated as a wide angle; no degree figure given28 dB; near-silent on low, as stated by the maker
OSTBA NDTFT17RH $40 85°28 dB
Amazon Basics DC1663 $36 60°Not stated by the maker

Where the models are not equal, in home comfort appliances

  • If price decides: Amazon Basics DC1663, at $36.

Who this one is for, among home comfort appliances

A workshop, garage or large room where the fan needs to be tall, simple and electrically sound

Price and availability, for home comfort appliances

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 1,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for home climate appliances and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

How these home comfort appliances are assessed here