Skip to content

BLACK+DECKER BPACT14 review

A portable three-in-one at 14,000 BTU ASHRAE and 10,200 SACC, for rooms up to 700 square feet, with Wi-Fi and a thermostat remote.

Where this leaves you The only unit on this shelf that publishes both of its cooling ratings — 14,000 BTU ASHRAE and 10,200 BTU SACC — which is the honest way to describe a portable. It is also a portable, not a window unit.

What the maker puts in writing

  • 14,000 BTU ASHRAE · 10,200 BTU SACC
  • Up to 700 sq ft · 16.5 × 14.06 × 27.09 in
  • 3 in 1: cool, dehumidify, fan
  • Wi-Fi app, Alexa and Google Assistant, Follow Me remote

The two numbers, and why only one maker prints both

14,000 BTU ASHRAE (10,200 BTU SACC).

A portable air conditioner sits inside the room it is cooling and pushes its heat out through a hose. Some of that heat comes straight back, and SACC is the rating that accounts for it.

Twenty-seven per cent of the headline figure disappears in that one parenthesis. The other portable on this shelf claims the same 14,000 and the same 700 square feet, and publishes no SACC at all.

It is not a window unit

At least six of the ten products here mount in the window. Two stand on the floor with a hose, and the hose still goes out of a window.

That is the right choice for a casement or a window that cannot take weight, and the wrong one for quiet: the two U-shaped window units on this shelf publish 32 dBA, and this one publishes nothing.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $610 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-04. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where this one sits on its shelf

At $610, it is the 9 cheapest of the 9 models in this category published here.

  • Lowest price on the shelf$140
  • Median$290
  • Highest price on the shelf$610

The good and the less good

Strengths

  • The only listing on this shelf to publish a SACC figure alongside the ASHRAE one, which is the rating that makes a portable comparable to a window unit
  • A Follow Me remote that measures the temperature where you are sitting rather than at the machine
  • Wi-Fi with both Alexa and Google Assistant, which only three units on this shelf offer

Compromises

  • The most expensive thing on this shelf, and it is a portable — the hose and the window kit take the window anyway
  • No noise figure at all, where five units here publish one and two of those publish 32 dBA
  • A portable rejects heat through a hose that sits in the room, which is why the SACC figure is 27% below the ASHRAE one

Specifications

TypePortable, floor standing with an exhaust hose and window kit
Cooling14,000 BTU ASHRAE; 10,200 BTU SACC
Room sizeUp to 700 sq ft
Modes3 in 1: air conditioner, dehumidifier, fan
Size16.5 × 14.06 × 27.09 in
ControlTop panel with LED display, full-function remote, Wi-Fi app, Alexa and Google Assistant
RemoteFollow Me — the remote acts as the thermostat
NoiseNot stated by the maker
PowerNot stated by the maker
Amazon referenceB01DLPUWHQ
EAN0819813013189

The questions that keep coming up

What is the difference between ASHRAE and SACC?

ASHRAE measures the cooling the machine produces; SACC accounts for the heat the hose and the infiltrating air put back into the room. For portables, SACC is the figure that compares with a window unit. This listing publishes both — 14,000 and 10,200 — and the other portable on this shelf publishes only the larger kind of number.

Will it cool 700 square feet?

That is the maker’s stated room size, and it rests on the 14,000 figure. Read against the 10,200 SACC the same listing publishes, treat 700 square feet as the optimistic end. A window unit on this shelf claims 550 square feet from 12,000 BTU.

How loud is it?

Not published. Portables put the compressor inside the room, so they are inherently louder than a window unit and far louder than the two U-shaped units on this shelf, which publish 32 dBA. The absence of a figure here is worth weighing.

Set beside the neighboring home comfort appliances

home comfort appliances from the same category, at nearby prices. Only what all of them publish is shown: a column with holes compares nothing.

Model Price Power
BLACK+DECKER BPACT14 $610 Not stated by the maker
Midea MAW12V1UWT $480 Not stated by the maker
Midea MAW06V1UBL $315 Not stated by the maker
Vtronix Classic America TWC-08CRD1-L0U-CA $295 120 VAC — North American mains spec

Where the models are not equal, in home comfort appliances

  • If price decides: Vtronix Classic America TWC-08CRD1-L0U-CA, at $295.

Who this one is for, among home comfort appliances

A room where a window unit cannot be mounted but a hose can reach a window

Price and availability, for home comfort appliances

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 2,000.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for home climate appliances and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

How these home comfort appliances are assessed here