Skip to content

DREO DR-HCF005S Black review

A 42-inch smart ceiling fan publishing 3,400 CFM peak and 2,247 average, under 31 decibels, with a 2,400-lumen light.

Where this leaves you The only product on this shelf that publishes both a peak and an average airflow — 3,400 CFM peak, 2,247 average — and the only ceiling fan here with a lumen figure. The average is the honest number, and the maker gave it.

What the maker puts in writing

  • 42 in · 3,400 CFM, average 2,247 CFM · quieter than 31 dB
  • 6 speeds by remote, 12 by app, with Normal, Auto and Sleep
  • 2,400 lm, stepless 5–100%, 2700–6500 K
  • Reversible blades in two finishes · one-touch direction reversal
  • Stated 50% energy saving, FTC certified

Two airflow numbers, which nobody else gives

3400 CFM (avg. 2247).

Every fan on this shelf and the shelf next door quotes its best figure. This one quotes its best and its typical, and the gap is a third.

That parenthesis is the most useful thing on this shelf, because it tells you how to read every other CFM number here — including the 6,000 from its own larger sibling, which comes with no average attached.

Lumens, not watt-equivalents

Two thousand four hundred lumens. The other fans here say “as bright as a 24 W bulb” and “180 W equivalent”, which cannot be compared with each other or with anything else.

One real unit, on a shelf of approximations.

Availability

Read on the day this page was built: $90 at the American Amazon shop.

Read from Keepa on the day this page was last revised; stock and price both move without notice.

Prices quoted in this text were read on 2026-10-04. The live price is at the top of the page.

Where this one sits on its shelf

At $90, it is the 7 cheapest of the 9 models in this category published here.

  • Lowest price on the shelf$19
  • Median$66
  • Highest price on the shelf$135

The good and the less good

Strengths

  • The only listing on this shelf that publishes an average airflow as well as a peak — 2,247 CFM against 3,400 — which is the figure a fan actually delivers
  • The only ceiling fan here with a light output in lumens: 2,400
  • Blades reversible between two finishes, so the fan matches the room without buying another

Compromises

  • No warranty published, where two ceiling fans on this shelf give ten and fifteen years on the motor
  • Twelve speeds and the three modes need the app; the remote gives six speeds
  • Thirty-one decibels against 22 from its own 52-inch stablemate

Specifications

Diameter42 in
Airflow3,400 CFM; average 2,247 CFM
NoiseQuieter than 31 dB
Speeds6 by remote; 12 by app, with Normal, Auto and Sleep modes
Light2,400 lm; stepless 5% to 100%; 2700 K to 6500 K
BladesTwo-color reversible — black and wood grain
DirectionReversible at one touch, remote or app
EnergyStated 50% less energy, certified by the FTC
ControlDREO app, Alexa, Google Home
WarrantyNot stated by the maker
Amazon referenceB0DRJYL93N
EAN0810142859875

The questions that keep coming up

Why does the average CFM matter?

Because the peak is the fan on its highest setting and the average is what it does across its range. Publishing both — 3,400 and 2,247 — is unusually candid, and it is the only place on this shelf where the gap is visible. Read the 6,000 CFM of the 52-inch DREO here as a peak, because that is the only figure it gives.

How bright is 2,400 lumens?

Roughly a 150-watt incandescent bulb, which is enough to light a bedroom on its own. It is the only lumen figure on this shelf; the other fans state a wattage equivalence instead, which is not comparable between them.

What is the FTC certification about?

The listing attaches it to the 50 per cent energy saving claim from reversing the fan to work with heating and cooling. The certification is named; the baseline it saves against is not.

Set beside the neighboring home comfort appliances

home comfort appliances from the same category, at nearby prices. Only what all of them publish is shown: a column with holes compares nothing.

Model Price DiameterAirflowLightControl
DREO DR-HCF005S Black $90 42 in3,400 CFM; average 2,247 CFM2,400 lm; stepless 5% to 100%; 2700 K to 6500 KDREO app, Alexa, Google Home
Westinghouse 7861400 $95 56 inNot stated by the makerNoneWall control, on/off and 5 speeds
addlon B0FWJQZXJ5 $70 24 inNot stated by the maker — given only as 80% wider coverage than the maker’s 20 in modelIntegrated LED panel, 10% to 100%; 3000 K, 4500 K or 6000 KRemote and app
ocioc 9012 $66 32 inNot stated by the maker — "large air volume"LED with nano-frosted shade; three color temperatures; stated as 180 W equivalentRemote

Where the models are not equal, in home comfort appliances

  • If price decides: ocioc 9012, at $66.
  • Highest Diameter in the table: Westinghouse 7861400 (56 in).

Who this one is for, among home comfort appliances

A bedroom up to a 42-inch span where the real airflow figure matters more than the headline one

Price and availability, for home comfort appliances

Details checked on October 4, 2026.

What buyers actually choose

Amazon reports what buyers took in the month before this page was last checked: at least 200.

The figure is a floor, rounded by Amazon, and read through Keepa — it says what buyers picked, not what a maker claims.

Sources

Specifications: the manufacturer sheet for home climate appliances and the matching Amazon product page. Prices and availability: Keepa. Every figure on this page names its source.

How these home comfort appliances are assessed here